Academic Databases
|
The University subscribes to the databases listed below to support the research and information needs of the student body. For help using the databases, please ask a librarian for assistance. Need help selecting a database? Refer to our Research Guides. |
Database Login Help
   - you will need to login to use any of the databases below from off-campus
Rindge Students, Faculty, and Staff:
Use your own FP network username and password, the same one you use for email, WebCT, and CampusWeb.
Graduate Students:
Each degree program is assigned a specific username and password. This may be obtained by calling the campus where you attend classes. Students enrolled in online-only courses may call the Manchester Campus for help (603-626-4972). Your eLL username and password will not work.
Professional Studies Students:
Each campus is assigned a specific username and password. This may be obtained by calling the campus where you attend classes (Concord, Keene, Lebanon, etc.). Students enrolled in online-only courses may call the Manchester Campus for help (603-626-4972). Your eLL username and password will not work.
Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- Research in many disciplines can begin in this database. Broad collection of scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines in full text.
- America: History & Life
- Indexes scholarly journal articles and other sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Focus on seventeenth through twenty-first centuries.
- Art Museum Image Gallery Online
- 155,000 high-quality images from numerous museums around the country. Search for images of 3-D objects such as statues and decorative or utilitarian objects, as well as images of 2-D paintings, sketches, and photos. All images "rights-cleared" for legal use for educational purposes.
- Behavioral Sciences Journals in ProQuest
- Search across Criminal Justice Periodicals Abstracts, Proquest Education Journals, Proquest Psychology Journals, Proquest Social Science Journals, Career and Technical Education, and Proquest Military Collection all at once.
- Business Journals in ProQuest
- Search across ABI/Inform, Banking Information, Hoover's, OxResearch, Asian Business, and Snapshot Series (Market Research overviews) all at once.
- Business Source Premier
- Broad collection of scholarly journal articles, industry reports, market reports, SWOT analyses, and trade magazine articles in full text.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Indexes nursing and allied health literature, including physical therapy sources. Links users to full text in many of our other databases.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Contains full text and citations for scholarly journals and trade publications in the fields of journalism, media criticism, media production, and mass marketing and advertising.
- Contemporary Authors & Contemporary Literary Criticism
- (Limited to 2 users at any one time)
- Contemporary Authors provides users with biographical-critical articles on most of the major literary figures of 20th- and 21st-century North America with some coverage of other parts of the world. Contemporary Literary Criticism covers the same time period and geographical region, offering the user review articles and some literary criticism.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
- Indexes articles in scholarly and professional literature in law enforcement, prison studies, and criminology, with some full text.
- Daily Life Online
- Database of articles and chapters describing daily life in various parts of the world in different time periods. Arranged so that you can review a single characteristic (costume, diet, etc.) across cultures, or many characteristics of a single culture, region, and/or time period.
- Dissertation Abstracts
- Lists over 2.2 million dissertations. When searching the database, you'll find an abstract that tells you what the dissertation is about, but the full text will not be immediately available. Please request dissertations through Interlibrary Loan; we will not have a copy in the library.
- eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
- Provides ethnographic overviews and bibliographies for hundreds of ethnic or cultural groups throughout the world, including ethnic affinity groups within the United States.
- Environment Complete
- Indexes over 1600 environmental science and ecological sources, with full-text coverage of dozens of peer-reviewed ES journals. Also includes trade journals, magazines, and full-text book sources.
- ERIC
- The most important database for education professionals. Provides scholarly articles, professional journal articles, and lengthy government documents on various aspects of pedagogy, educational psychology, instructional technology, and school administration from pre-school up to the college & university level.
- FirstSearch
- A collection of databases; please ask for assistance in finding the correct FirstSearch database for your project.
- Grove Music Online
- Includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2d ed.), the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Biographical content, analysis of the careers of major performers and composers in the Western tradition, and extensive bibliographies.
- HealthSource Nursing/Academic Edition
- Full text of scholarly and professional nursing journals covering many different types of nursing. Contains consumer-oriented drug information made available through Lexi-Pals.
- Health Sciences and Management Journals in ProQuest
- Search Proquest Health & Allied Science Source, ProQuest Health Management Journals and Pharmaceutical News Index at the same time.
- Historical Abstracts
- Indexes scholarly journal articles and other sources on the history of the world except for the United States and Canada, with a strong focus on European history. This database does not cover ancient or medieval history, only Renaissance through contemporary times.
- Hoover's Online
- A database of information about thousands of domestic and foreign companies. Provides executive names, some executive compensation, some financial data, and information about competitors.
- Humanities E-Book Collection
- A collection of full-length scholarly history texts provided in an "e-book" format. All text is fully searchable. All or most periods of human history receive some coverage in this database.
- JSTOR
- JSTOR provides extensive backfiles of many journals in the fields of business, the arts, humanities, and behavioral and natural sciences. Franklin Pierce subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, and III databases.
- LexisNexis Academic
- Legal and news sources. The newspaper sources include several local newspapers and many foreign English-language newspapers. The news sources also include transcripts of foreign and domestic radio and television programs from organizations including NPR and al-Jazeerah. The legal sources include many important law reviews as well as "legal news" sources and journals for law professionals.
- LISTA—Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- Index to library and information science literature. Some titles indexed back to the 1960s. Links to full text in other databases only.
- Medline with Full Text
- Provides indexing and links to many valuable medical journal sources. Designed for the use of medical professionals but accessible to undergraduate students as well, with assistance.
- MLA International Bibliography
- Index to scholarly literary criticism of literature in modern languages, mostly English and other European languages. Much of the content is not linked to full text, so you will want to use this database a couple of weeks before your assignment is due.
- Natural Sciences Journals in ProQuest
- Search across ProQuest Biology Journals, ProQuest Computer Journals, ProQuest Nursing & Health Source, & ProQuest Science Journals all at once.
- New York Times Historical, 1852-2003
- A phenomenal primary source database providing links to 150 years of page images of the newspaper that has come to be seen as the nation's "newspaper of record". You can search for the front page of the newspaper from a specific date, or search for all the articles on a particular subject as the events unfolded.
- Newspaper Source
- A clipping service providing some interesting articles from various newspapers across the country and some international papers. This is a good source to browse but not a good source to find in-depth reporting on any particular topic.
- OVID Nursing Journals
- A collection of important academic and professional nursing journals.
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Search the premier dictionary of the English language online. You may find the Help files useful when using the dictionary in a more in-depth manner.
- ProQuest - Search All
- Search all databases in ProQuest.
- ProQuest Central
- Access to numerous peer-reviewed and trade journals in the fields of psychology, social sciences, education, biology, computing, nursing & allied health, general science, health management, dissertations, and much more.
- ProQuest Newspapers
- Full-text access to national newspapers including New York Times, Boston Globe, Wall Street Journal, and major papers from major US and Canadian cities such as Chicago, San Francisco, Houston, Atlanta, Washington, D.C., Toronto, and Vancouver
- PsycInfo & PsychArticles
- The most important database for mental health professionals and scholars. Provides full text of all APA journals from the 1960s to the present as well as links to full text in other databases. Coverage focuses more on psychotherapy, behavioral, and cognitive aspects of psychology. For psychiatry resources, focus more on Medline
- R2 Library
- Growing e-book collection supporting our Health Science and Nursing programs.
- SocIndex with Full Text
- Index to monograph and journal publications in such fields as sociology, social psychology, urban studies, and criminology, with a large collection of full text monograph and periodical titles.
- SportDiscus
- Index to articles on physical education, physical training, sports medicine, sports industry business topics, and other sports-related topics. Links to full-text in other databases.
- SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst
- Much of the content was formerly published in print as Lifestyle Market Analyst. This resource gathers marketing and demographic data. Please contact a reference librarian for the username and password.
- WorldCat
- A huge list of many of the books held by many libraries (mostly American); this is a good place to find out about books that you might want to interlibrary loan for a major research project or literature review.
- Wall Street Journal, 1984-present
- Full text of all articles written for the WSJ from 1982 to the present.
- What can I do with this major?
- For each major/discipline listed, this source provides an outline of common career areas, typical employers, and strategies designed to maximize career opportunities, as well as links to websites that provide information about listed majors and related careers.
- World of Learning
- Online database providing educational and cultural resources for all the nations of the world.
Need help selecting a database? Refer to our Research Guides.






